Museum of me

Museum of me. ( A typical days research)

Recently I completed a brief based upon the museum of me.

I decided to create a number of A3 Illustrations that mixed a number of mediums together through experimentation.
I am quite pleased with the final 6 images however the technique used to produce this type of style was pretty time consuming.


It was a style that I have not revisited for quite some time so I was interested to see what fruits it might bare and what opportunities or directions it might take me for future assignments. towards what makes the museum of me.

I decided to do glimpses into rooms or rather snapshots of thoughts, I’ve applied metaphoric meaning in order to filter out what thoughts and images were best kept to myself that I had produced, in order to decided what was best to share with my peers.

Here in what I coined, “The Basement” I keep my darkest thoughts.

Some of my final pieces, they are graphic pen work and watercolour.

I began with my research after scanning the brief, this instantly reminded me of an old MTV cartoon series that was televised in 13 episodes.

Named the Maxx, it follows the story of a homeless man in New York City whom has reality distorted to the point that he believes himself to be a superhero.

In the murky alleyways of New York City, homeless Maxx huddles in his box and dreams of crushing evil villains. But when he bursts into the colourful netherworld of the Outback, the Maxx is a hero, in full purple splendour. His friend Julie, a freelance social worker, thinks the Maxx’s alternate universe is just an escape from the harsh reality of New York-not realizing that she, too, roams the Outback as the Jungle Queen.

Join the Maxx for deliciously demonic adventures in both worlds, as he scours streets and jungles in search of the link between his two realities. Will he be able to find the connection before it’s too late?

Exploring the nature of the Id and psychological effects in a basic character social structure through the use of narrative and sequence.

I visited the cubist display of Elizabeth Fritsch within the National Museum of Wales,
Since the 1970s she has been one of the leading figures in British ceramics.
Creating hand built vessel forms with strong architectonic qualities, which she prefers to show in subtly arranged groups designed to highlight the geometric shapes and decoration.

I also spent time researching and revisiting some favourite artists of mine, such as MC Escher and Masaccio.

M.C. Escher

Maurits Cornelis Escher (1898-1972) is one of the world’s most famous graphic artists. He is most famous for his so-called impossible structures, such as Ascending and Descending, Relativity, his Transformation Prints, such as Metamorphosis I, Metamorphosis II and Metamorphosis III, Sky & Water I or Reptiles.

M.C. Escher, during his lifetime, made 448 lithographs, woodcuts and wood engravings and over 2000 drawings and sketches.

M. C. Escher, “Relativity”.

M.C. Escher
Stars (1948)

M.C. Escher Balcony.

Masaccio

Masaccio (December 21, 1401 – autumn 1428), born Tommaso di Ser Giovanni di Simone, was the first great painter of the Quattro cento period of the Italian Renaissance. According to Vasari, Masaccio was the best painter of his generation because of his skill at recreating lifelike figures and movements as well as a convincing sense of three-dimensionality

He was one of the first to use Linear perspective in his painting, employing techniques such as vanishing point in art for the first time.

The Holy Trinity, fresco by the
Early Italian Renaissance painter Masaccio.

Virgin Mary with pseudo-Arabic halo,

by Masaccio (1426).

~ by Karmakoma on November 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
